Research at the Institute for Computer Engineering

On this page we briefly introduce the six chairs at the Institute for Computer Engineering of the University of Heidelberg and their research areas:

 

 Automation - Prof. Dr. E. Badreddin

logo

The focus points of research at the Automation Laboratory refer to process control and autonomous systems with various areas of application in engineering and computer science. The laboratory is specialized in two areas of research, which are roughly described in the following. 

Process Control and Dependability

processMany physical and technical systems are hybrid in the sense that they have barriers or limitations. A natural way to model such systems is to use a mixture of differential equations and inequalities. Other systems have switches and relays that can also be naturally modelled as hybrid systems. Sometimes, modes can be strictly speaking not discrete. However, it can be advantageous to model systems in that way. For example, nonlinear system can be modelled using hybrid systems as set of linear models each one covering a part of the state space. Moreover, control systems can require to change their operating point or to be reconfigured at all in case of faults. Thus, fault tolerant control systems (FTC) can also be modelled as hybrid systems.

Hybrid systems and FTC can be applied in a very wide spectrum of applications for example in areas of flight control, air traffic control, missile guidance, process control, robotics, etc. The process control group of the Automation Lab works in the modelling and control of hybrid systems with application to process control plants like desalinations plants, batch processes, bioreactors, and renewable energy systems.

Autonomous Systems and Medical and Rehabilitation Robotics

Autonomous mobile systems, such as robots, can fulfill specific tasks without the help of a human operator. Sensors are used to perceive the environment enabling the robot to navigate safely from place to place and manipulate objects. Medical and Rehabilitation Engineering is a key technology of our society. Areas of application supported by medical devices are intensive care, surgery, and orthopedics as well as many further medical fields. Elderly and disabled people are enabled to manage their life using rehabilitation-technological aids. Robotics

The field of robotics is highly interdisciplinary, so that building a successful autonomous or medical system involves the integration of techniques from many different fields of research. Among the most important ones are control theory, kinematics, dynamics, sensors, actuators, safety technology, dependability, image and signal processing, soft computing, real time programming, cognitive engineering, and many more.

Projects

  • EU Project Open-Gain – Optimal Engineering Design for Dependable Water and Power Generation in Remote Areas Using Renewable Energies and Intelligent Automation

  • Wasseraufbereitung mit regenerativer Energie aus Sonne und Wind

  • ECOMODIS - efficient component-based development of dependable computing systems

  • Further projects are e.g. “Surgical Tool Drive”, “Fault Tolerant Systems”, “Holonomic Mobile Robot”, “Intelligent Wheelchair”, etc. 

Visit the website of the chair

top icon

 

Optoelectronics - Prof. Dr. K.-H. Brenner

The research activities of the chair of optoelectronics cover the development, the fabrication and characterization of micro-optical components and systems. Main application areas of these components are optical communication and medical sensors.

The ion-exchange technique is used for the fabrication of high quality micro-lenses with diffraction limited performance. With this technique, also lenses of different focal lengths can be realized on a single substrate. The lens edge can be circular or square. The main application areas of these micro-lenses are wavefront sensing and optical interconnects.

We use deep lithography with UV-exposure, in order to fabricate alignment structures for optical fiber systems. Using exposure under oblique angles, we can also realize optical micro-mirrors, which can be used to deflect light.

The design and fabrication of non-imaging optical components is a further research area of the chair. Non-imaging elements are used for beam shaping of edge-emitting semiconductor lasers and for the illumination of optical systems.

For the component fabrication, the chair is equipped with a clean-room, a processing laboratory and several optical labs. Our laser-lithography system has a positioning accuracy of 50 nm and a minimum feature size of 0.8 µm on a field of 6" x 6".

Visit the website of the chair

top icon

 

Computer Architecture - Prof. Dr. U. Brüning

CAG logo The Computer Architecture Group at the University of Heidelberg has the expertise to design complex hardware/software systems. As system architects we cover not only the operation principles but include the technology and the software to build real working prototypes. All levels of system design are covered, starting at the application programming interface, e.g. MPI, through the efficient design of device drivers finishing at custom build hardware devices based on standard cells.

 

The group mainly focuses on the design of parallel architectures which achieve their high performance by improving communication between computational devices/units. Scaling such systems is a great challenge to the architecture of the interconnection network (IN) and the network interface controller (NIC). Special attention is paid on the interface between software and hardware to setup communication instructions.

 

Areas of Research:

  • Parallel- and cluster computing
  • New computer architectures und paralell computers
  • Low latency interconnection networks
  • Communication in cluster systems
  • Efficient hardware development tools



Projects include:

  • Center of Excellence for Hypertransport
  • HTX Board: A universal Hypertransport test platform
  • SEED: Support for Education in Electronic Design
  • ATOLL: Atomic low latency interconnect for cluster computing
  • FSM Designer 4: An efficient FSM design tool

Visit the website of the chair

top icon

 

Circuit Design - Prof. Dr. P. Fischer

At the chair of Circuit Design, microelectronic circuits are developed, tested and applied. These microchips often contain extremely sensitive, low noise amplifiers for capturing sensor data and modules for further analog and digital signal processing. The crucial parts of such chips are designed completely manually. They are simulated on the analog level to achieve a maximal performance. The designs are fabricated in state-of-the-art CMOS technologies and are put into operation here at the group. A typical use case consists not only of designing the chip, but also includes building suitable control and data acquisition systems, the control and synchronisation of all components and the analysis of the measured data.

Here are some examples of our recent chip developments:

  • Highly integrated circuits for positron emission tomography 
  • Readout electronics for DEPFET sensors for the future ILC detector
  • Chips for detecting X-rays with hybrid pixel sensors 
  • Novel monolithic pixel sensors 
  • Development of front-end electronics for the CBM experiment at FAIR at the GSI.
  • High-speed microscopy within the Viroquant project
  • Detectors for synchrotron experiments at DESY, ESRF and the future XFEL
  • Circuit design techniques for generation of secret keys for cryptography 

Without such chips and systems being highly optimised for special tasks many research projects today could not be realized.

For students the "Computer Architecture" and "Circuit Design" groups offer the specialisation course on "Chip Design". This starts with the transistor and the fabrication process technologies of chips and provides basic knowledge of analog design and circuits. The description and design of digital circuits is covered in detail and every step from the idea to a complete chip is practically exercised in lab courses. 

Visit the website of the chair

top icon

 

Application Specific Computing- Prof. Dr. R. Strzodka

Displacements in an object under loadTime skewing algorithmParallel access in AoS and SoA

Our research focuses on significant improvements of performance and accuracy in application specific computing through a global optimization across the entire spectrum of numerical methods, algorithm design, software implementation and hardware acceleration.

These layers typically have contradictory requirements and their integration poses many challenges. For example, numerically superior methods expose little parallelism, bandwidth efficient algorithms convolve the processing of space and time into unmanageable software patterns, high level language abstractions create data layout and composition barriers, and high performance on today's hardware poses strict requirements on parallel execution and data access. High performance and accuracy for the entire application can only be achieved by balancing these requirements across all layers.

The following topics are given particular attention:
- Mixed precision methods
- Multigrid methods
- Adaptive data structures
- Data representation
- Bandwidth optimization
- Reconfigurable computing 

Visit the website of the chair

back to top

Forschung am Institut für Technische Informatik

Auf dieser Seite stellen sich die sechs Lehrstühle des Instituts für Technische Informatik der Universität Heidelberg kurz vor. Jeder Lehrstuhl präsentiert hier seine Forschungsschwerpunkte und Projekte:

 

Automation - Prof. Dr. E. Badreddin

logo

Forschungsschwerpunkte am Lehrstuhl für Automation sind verfahrenstechnische und autonome Systemen mit zahlreichen Anwendungsszenarien im Bereich der Ingenieurswissenschaften und Informatik. Der Lehrstuhl ist auf zwei Forschungsgebiete spezialisiert, die im Folgenden kurz beschrieben werden.

Regelung verlässlicher, verfahrenstechnischer Systeme

ProcessViele physikalische und technische Systeme sind hybrid in dem Sinne, dass sie Grenzen und Beschränkungen aufweisen. Ein natürlicher Weg zur Modellierung derartiger Systeme besteht darin, eine Mischung aus Differentialgleichungen und Ungleichungen zu verwenden. Weitere Systeme weisen Schalter und Relais auf, die direkt als hybrides System modellierbar sind. Obwohl einige Modi nicht im strengen Sinne diskret sein können, kann es von Vorteil sein, sie ebenfalls in dieser Form zu modellieren. Ein Beispiel hierzu sind nichtlineare Systeme, die durch einen Satz linearer Modelle beschrieben werden, wobei jedes Modell ein Teil des Zustandsraums deckt. Weiter kann es für verfahrenstechnische Systeme notwendig sein, den Arbeitspunkt des Systems zu ändern oder im Fehlerfall das komplette System zu rekonfigurieren. Fehlertolerante Systeme können also auch als hybride Systeme modelliert werden.

Hybride und fehlertolerante Systeme können in einem sehr breiten Anwendungsspektrum verwendet werden. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel die Flugregelung, Flugverkehrsleitung, Raketensteuerung, Verfahrenstechnik, Robotik, etc. Die Prozesstechnikgruppe des Lehrstuhls für Automation arbeitet v.a. im Bereich der Modellierung und Regelung von hybriden Systemen in der Anwendung von verfahrenstechnischen Systemen wie Wasserentsalzungsanlagen, Bioreaktoren und erneuerbare Energiesysteme.

Autonome Systeme und Medizin- und Rehabilitationsrobotik

Autonome Mobile Systeme wie beispielsweise Roboter können die ihnen übertragene Aufgaben ohne menschliches Eingreifen durchführen. Zur Wahrnehmung der Umwelt werden verschiedene Arten von Sensoren eingesetzt. Dies ermöglicht sicheres Navigieren und die Manipulation von Objekten in der Umgebung. Die Medizin- und Rehabilitationstechnik ist eine der Schlüsseltechnologien unserer Gesellschaft. Anwendungsgebiete medizinischer Geräte findet man vor allem in der Intensivmedizin, in der Chirurgie und in der Orthopädie, aber auch in vielen weiteren Bereichen der Medizin. Ältere und behinderte Menschen werden durch den Einsatz von rehabilitationstechnischen Hilfsmitteln in die Lage versetzt, ihr Leben selbständig zu gestalten.

Robotics

Die Robotikforschung ist stark interdisziplinär, die Realisierung eines erfolgsversprechenden autonomen Systems ist nur möglich, wenn Verfahren und Techniken aus verschiedenen Forschungsgebieten kombiniert werden. Einige der wichtigsten Gebiete sind dabei Regelungstechnik, Kinematik, Dynamik, Sensorik, Aktorik, Sicherheitstechniken, Verlässlichkeit, Bild- und Signalverarbeitung, Soft Computing, kognitive Systeme, Echtzeitprogrammierung und viele mehr.

 

Projekte

  • EU Projekt Open-Gain – Optimaler Systementwurf für verlässliche Wasser- und Stromversorgung in abgelegenen Gebieten mittels erneuerbarer Energien und intelligenter Automation
    • Wasseraufbereitung mit regenerativer Energie aus Sonne und Wind
  • ECOMODIS – Effiziente komponentenbasierte Entwicklung verlässlicher Computer-System
  • Weitere Projekte sind zum Beispiel "Chirurgiebohrer", "Fehlertolerante Systeme", "Holonome Mobile Roboter", "Intelligenter Rollstuhl", etc.

Lehrstuhlwebseite besuchen

top icon

 

Optoelektronik - Prof. Dr. K.-H. Brenner

Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Lehrstuhls für Optoelektronik liegen im Bereich der Entwicklung, Herstellung und Charakterisierung mikrooptischer Bauelemente und Systeme. Hauptanwendungsbereiche für diese Komponenten sind die optische Informationstechnik und die Medizintechnik.
Durch Ionenaustauschtechniken werden am Lehrstuhl planare Mikrolinsen hoher optischer Qualität (beugungsbegrenzt) hergestellt. Es können Linsen unterschiedlicher Brennweite auf einem Substrat kombiniert werden. Die Linsenberandung kann kreisförmig oder quadratisch sein. Anwendungsfelder dieser Mikrolinsen sind die optische Verbindungstechnik und die Wellenfrontmessung. Durch Tiefenlithographie mit UV-Licht können unter Verwendung von Senkrecht- oder Schrägbelichtung Halteelemente für die Faser-Verbindungstechnik hergestellt werden. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt im Design und der Herstellung von nicht-abbildenden optischen Komponenten für die Strahlformung bzw. die Beleuchtung optischer Systeme.

Für die Komponentenherstellung ist der Lehrstuhl ausgestattet mit einem Reinraum, einem Prozesslabor, und mehreren Optiklabors. Im Reinraum werden Geräte für den lithographischen Prozess betrieben. Darunter ein Laserlithograph mit einem Adressraster von 50 nm und einer kleinsten Strukturgröße von 0.8 µm auf einem Feld von maximal 6" x 6". Ferner bietet der Lehrstuhl für Optoelektronik Dienstleistungen im Bereich der Mikrooptik an. Das Spektrum reicht dabei von der Beratung über Machbarkeitsstudien, Prototypen bis zur Kleinstserienfertigung.

Lehrstuhlwebseite besuchen

top icon

  

Rechnerarchitektur - Prof. Dr. U. Brüning

cag logo

Der Lehrstuhl für Rechnerarchitektur der Universität Heidelberg ist auf den Entwurf komplexer Hardware- und Softwaresysteme spezialisiert. Als Rechnerarchitekten beschäftigen wir uns nicht nur mit den Funktionsprinzipien der Hardware, sondern decken auch die für die Entwicklung realer Prototypen notwendige Technologie und Software ab. Alle Ebenen des Systementwurfs werden behandelt, beginnend mit dem Application Programming Interface (z.B. MPI), über die effiziente Programmierung der Gerätetreiber bis hin zur Realisierung eigener Hardware mit Standardzellen.

Der Lehrstuhl ist spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung paralleler Systeme, die ihre hohe Leistung durch die Optimierung der Kommunikation zwischen den einzelnen Recheneinheiten erreichen. Die Skalierung solcher Systeme stellt hohe Anforderungen an das Verbindungsnetzwerk und an die Netzwerkcontroller. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenken wir der Schnittstelle zwischen Hardware und Software zur Bereitstellung von Kommunikationsbefehlen.


Forschungsgebiete:

  • Parallel- und Clustercomputing
  • Neuartige Computerarchitekturen und Parallelrechner
  • Latenzarme Verbindungsnetzwerke für die Kommunikation in Clustersystemen
  • Effiziente Hardwareentwurfswerkzeuge




Einige Projekte:

  • Center of Excellence for Hypertransport
  • HTX Board: Eine universelle Hypertransport Testplattform
  • SEED: Support for Education in Electronic Design
  • ATOLL: Atomic low latency verbindungsnetzwerk für Clustercomputer
  • FSM Designer 4: Ein effizientes FSM design tool

Lehrstuhlwebseite besuchen

top icon

  

Schaltungstechnik und Simulation - Prof. Dr. P. Fischer

Am Lehrstuhl für Schaltungstechnik werden mikroelektronische Schaltungen entworfen, getestet und in praktischen Anwendungen eingesetzt. Diese Mikrochips enthalten meist hochempfindliche, rauscharme Verstärker zur Aufbereitung von Sensorsignalen und eine an die jeweilige Anwendung angepasste analoge und digitale Weiterverarbeitung. Die zentralen Baugruppen in den Chips werden manuell entworfen und analog simuliert um die maximale Performance zu erreichen. Die Designs werden in modernsten CMOS Technologien hergestellt und am Lehrstuhl in Betrieb genommen. Zum Einsatz in der Anwendung gehört neben dem Chipdesign auch der Aufbau geeigneter Kontroll- und Auslesesysteme, die Steuerung aller Komponenten und die Auslese und Analyse der Daten.

Einige aktuelle Beispiele für die Anwendungen unserer Chipentwicklungen sind

  • Hochintegrierte Elektronik für Positronen-Emissions-Tomographie 
  • Ausleseelektronik für DEPFET Sensoren für den geplanten ILC Detektor
  • Chips zum Röntgennachweis mit hybriden Pixelsensoren 
  • Neuartige monolitische Pixelsensoren 
  • Entwicklung von Front-End Elektronik für das CBM Experiment bei FAIR an der GSI.
  • Hochgeschwindigkeitsmikroskopie innerhalb des Projekts Viroquant
  • Detektoren für Experimente mit Synchrotronstrahlung bei DESY, ESRF und dem zukünftigen XFEL
  • Schaltungstechniken zur Erzeugung geheimer Sicherheits-Schlüssel

Ohne solche auf eine spezielle Anwendung hin hochoptimierte Chips und Systeme sind heute viele Forschungsprojekte nicht mehr realisierbar.

In der Lehre bieten die Lehrstühle für Rechnerarchitektur und Schaltungstechnik gemeinsam die Vertiefung "Chipentwurf" an. Ausgehend vom Transistor und der Herstellungstechnologie von Chips werden analoge Grundlagen vermittelt, die Beschreibung digitaler Schaltungen detailliert behandelt und der vollständige Weg von der Idee bis zum fertigen Chip auch in praktischen Übungen beschritten.

Lehrstuhlwebseite besuchen

top icon

  

Anwendungsspezifisches Rechnen - Prof. Dr. R. Strzodka

Displacements in an object under loadTime skewing algorithmParallel access in AoS and SoA

Unsere Forschung strebt signifikante Fortschritte der Leistung und Genauigkeit im anwendungsspezifischen Rechnen durch eine globale Optimierung über das gesamte Spektrum der numerischen Methoden, Algorithmen Entwicklung, Software Implementierung und Hardware Beschleunigung.

Diese Stufen haben typischerweise widersprechende Forderungen und ihre Integration stellt viele Herausforderungen. Beispielsweise, numerisch starke Methoden erlauben nur wenig parallele Ausführung, bandbreiten-effiziente Algorithmen vermengen die Verarbeitung von Zeit- und Raumindizes in nur schwer handbare Software-Konstrukte, Abstraktionen in Hochsprachen erzeugen Barrieren bezüglich der Daten-Repräsentation und Komposition, und schließlich hohe Leistung auf heutiger Hardware stellt strikte Anforderungen an parallele Verarbeitung und Datenzugriffe. Hohe Leistung und Genauigkeit für eine gesamte Anwendung kann nur erreicht werden durch das sorgfältige Balancieren der Anforderungen aller dieser Stufen.

Den folgenden Themen wird besondere Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet:
- Gemischtgenaue Methoden
- Multigrid Methoden
- Adaptive Datenstrukturen
- Datenrepräsentation
- Bandbreiten-Optimierung
- Rekonfigurierbares Rechnen 

Lehrstuhlwebseite besuchen

back to top