Interdisciplinary. Application-oriented. Forward-thinking.

The Institute of Computer Engineering (ZITI) dedicates its research and teaching activities to the understanding and implementation of complex systems in information technology. One research aspect is to analyze how new results in mathematics and fundamental physics may lead to innovative and intelligent computer systems. Another research focus is the application of new technologies and methods in computer engineering to sensing and instrumentation in physics, astronomy, biology, medicine and other natural and life sciences.

group photo
ZITI in Neuenheimer Feld 368

Three main features characterize the profile of computer engineering in Heidelberg: multidisciplinarity, application-orientation, and orientation towards the future. Due to their broad competences, our chairs are able to bring together their diverse knowledge and their different methodological approaches in order to jointly develop integrated hardware and software solutions. This synergistic combination distinguishes ZITI from classical departments of computer science at many other universities. Thus, research and teaching contents can be aligned constantly with current, as well as with future requirements. From the beginning, ZITI has always put an emphasis on market-oriented education for our graduate students, to enable them to meet their future responsibilities in industry and in research.

The result is an innovative orientation towards current and future developments, an internationally leading position in several research areas, lively spin-off activities and an academic education, tailored to meet market demands.

Latest news

The NCT group at ZITI is organizing the FPGA Ignite 2024 Summer School (Aug. 5-9) with a full week of networking, classes (mostly related to RISC-V) and a hackathon to design a chip

ZITI is very happy to welcome Tom Cecil, Senior Architect at Synopsys, for a visit on June 10 2024. He will give a public talk at 4 pm in room U014 of OMZ (INF 350, floor -1)

ZITI is very happy to welcome Dr. Denys Makarov for a visit on May 21 2024. Prof. Makarov will give a public talk at 2 pm in room SR043 of BioQuant (INF 267, ground floor).

ZITI’s Prof. Dr. Dr. Lorenzo Masia was invited as a keynote speaker at the 2024 Nature Conference on Transformative Technologies on Neuroengineering in Shenzhen, China (April 10-12, 2024).

ZITI is very happy to welcome Prof. Vito Cacucciolo to give a talk on “Solid-State Soft Pumps for Electrically driven Artificial Muscles, Soft Robots, and Active Textiles” on February 8, 2024.

Interdisziplinär. Anwendungsorientiert. Zukunftsweisend.

Das ZITI widmet sich in Forschung und Lehre dem Verständnis und der Implementierung komplexer informationstechnischer Systeme. Unter anderem wird untersucht, wie neue Erkenntnisse in der Mathematik sowie Grundlagen der Physik zu innovativen und intelligenten Rechnersystemen führen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Anwendung neuester Methoden der Technischen Informatik auf Aufgabenstellungen aus der Physik, Astronomie, Biologie, Medizin und anderen Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften.

group photo
ZITI im Neuenheimer Feld 368

Das Profil der Technischen Informatik zeichnet sich durch drei zentrale Charakteristika aus: Interdisziplinarität, Anwendungsorientierung und Zukunftsorientierung. Ihre Kompetenzbreite ermöglicht es den Lehrstühlen, ihre unterschiedlichen Kenntnisse und Ansätze zusammenzubringen, um gemeinsam integrierte Hard- und Softwarelösungen zu entwickeln. Durch das synergistische Zusammenwirken der beteiligten Lehrstühle unterscheidet sich das ZITI deutlich von klassischen Informatikfachbereichen anderer Universitäten. So können Forschung und Lehrinhalte kontinuierlich am zukünftigen Bedarf ausgerichtet werden. Ein weiteres zentrales Anliegen des ZITI war von Anfang an auch die marktgerechte Ausbildung des Nachwuchses für die Industrie und für die eigene wissenschaftliche Forschung.

Das Ergebnis: die innovative Ausrichtung auf die aktuellen und zukünftigen Marktentwicklungen, eine internationale Spitzenstellung auf einzelnen Forschungsgebieten, hohe Ausgründungsaktivitäten sowie eine bedarfsgerechte Ausbildung unserer Absolventen.

Neuigkeiten

Wir freuen uns sehr, Prof. Jan Stallkamp für seinen Vortrag “Automatisierung in der Medizin: Leicht gesagt, schwer getan” am 08. Juli 2024 begrüßen zu können.

Am 01. Juli 2024 wird ZITI Fellow Dr. Amin Aminifar um 16 Uhr im Raum U014 im OMZ (INF 350, UG) im Rahmen des ZITI Kolloquiums einen öffentlichen Vortrag zum Thema Federated Learning for Wearable Healthcare halten.

Die NCT Gruppe organisiert in diesem Jahr wieder die FPGA Ignite 2024 Summer School (5.-9. Aug.). Eine Woche lang Networking, Kurse (insbesondere RISC-V) und ein Hackathon zu Chipdesign.

ZITI ist hocherfreut Tom Cecil, Senior Architect bei Synopsys, am 10. Juni 2024 begrüßen zu können. Sein öffentlicher Vortrag findet um 16 Uhr im Raum U014 im OMZ statt (INF 350, UG).

ZITI begrüßt Dr. Makarov am 21. Mai 2024 für einen Besuch in Heidelberg. Prof. Makarov wird einen Vortrag um 14 Uhr im Raum SR043 im BioQuant (INF 267, Erdgeschoss) halten.