Institute of Computer Engineering
at University of Heidelberg (ZITI)

The Institute of Computer Engineering (ZITI) dedicates its research and teaching activities to the understanding and implementation of complex systems in information technology. One research aspect is to analyze how new results in mathematics and fundamental physics may lead to innovative and intelligent computer systems. Another research focus is the application of new technologies and methods in computer engineering to sensing and instrumentation in physics, astronomy, biology, medicine and other natural and life sciences.

Three main features characterize the profile of computer engineering in Heidelberg: multidisciplinarity, application-orientation, and orientation towards the future. Due to their broad competences, our chairs are able to bring together their diverse knowledge and their different methodological approaches in order to jointly develop integrated hardware and software solutions. This synergistic combination distinguishes ZITI from classical departments of computer science at many other universities. Thus, research and teaching contents can be aligned constantly with current, as well as with future requirements. From the beginning, ZITI has always put an emphasis on market-oriented education for our graduate students, to enable them to meet their future responsibilities in industry and in research.

The result is an innovative orientation towards current and future developments, an internationally leading position in several research areas, lively spin-off activities and an academic education, tailored to meet market demands.

Have a closer look at our Institute!


A new master specialization 'Robotics, Biomechanics & Biomedical Engineering' starts from WS 2018/19! 

The new lecture 'Robotics 1 - Kinematics, Dynamics and Motion Planning' (2+2 SWS) will be offered for the first time in WS 2018/19. Students enrolling now have the opportunity to choose this specialization. Further details on the specialization and the module descriptions can be found in the new version of the module manual (PDF). 



Our new location: Im Neuenheimer Feld 368, 4th and 5th floor, 69120 Heidelberg

back to top

Institut für Technische Informatik
als zentrale Einrichtung der Universität Heidelberg (ZITI)

Das ZITI widmet sich in Forschung und Lehre dem Verständnis und der Implementierung komplexer informationstechnischer Systeme. Unter anderem wird untersucht, wie neue Erkenntnisse in der Mathematik sowie Grundlagen der Physik zu innovativen und intelligenten Rechnersystemen führen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Anwendung neuester Methoden der Technischen Informatik auf Aufgabenstellungen aus der Physik, Astronomie, Biologie, Medizin und anderen Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften.

Das Profil der Technischen Informatik zeichnet sich durch drei zentrale Charakteristika aus: Interdisziplinarität, Anwendungsorientierung und Zukunftsorientierung. Ihre Kompetenzbreite ermöglicht es den Lehrstühlen, ihre unterschiedlichen Kenntnisse und Ansätze zusammenzubringen, um gemeinsam integrierte Hard- und Softwarelösungen zu entwickeln. Durch das synergistische Zusammenwirken der beteiligten Lehrstühle unterscheidet sich das ZITI deutlich von klassischen Informatikfachbereichen anderer Universitäten. So können Forschung und Lehrinhalte kontinuierlich am zukünftigen Bedarf ausgerichtet werden. Ein weiteres zentrales Anliegen des ZITI war von Anfang an auch die marktgerechte Ausbildung des Nachwuchses für die Industrie und für die eigene wissenschaftliche Forschung.

Das Ergebnis: die innovative Ausrichtung auf die aktuellen und zukünftigen Marktentwicklungen, eine internationale Spitzenstellung auf einzelnen Forschungsgebieten, hohe Ausgründungsaktivitäten sowie eine bedarfsgerechte Ausbildung unserer Absolventen.

Lernen Sie uns besser kennen!


Bewerbung im Masterstudiengang Technische Informatik zum WS 2018/19

Deutsche Studieninteressenten und Studieninteressierte mit deutscher Hochschulzugangsberechtigung können sich bis zum 05.10.2018 direkt beim ZITI mit diesem Formular bewerben. Ihre vollständig ausgefüllte Bewerbung mit den erforderlichen Nachweisen senden Sie bitte an:

Institut für Technische Informatik (ZITI)
Frau Michaela Binder
Im Neuenheimer Feld 368
Raum 426
69120 Heidelberg


Neue Master Vertiefung ‘Robotics, Biomechanics & Biomedical Engineering’ ab WS 2018/19 eingerichtet

Die Lehrveranstaltung der neuen Vertiefung 'Robotics 1 - Kinematics, Dynamics and Motion Planning' (2+2 SWS) wird im WS 2018/19 erstmals angeboten. Studierende, die sich jetzt einschreiben, haben die Gelegenheit, diese Vertiefung zu wählen. Weitere Details zu der Vertiefung sowie die Modulbeschreibungen finden Sie in der neuen Version des Modulhandbuchs (PDF).   


Neue Institutsadresse: Im Neuenheimer Feld 368, 4. und 5. OG, 69120 Heidelberg

back to top